Tuesday, August 4, 2009

Prameya Five- All the jivas are eternally servants of God

Even the liberated souls remain eternally as servants of God

After we have accepted that the Lord and the living entities are different, the next inquiry would be regarding the relation between them. In answer, the Svetasvatara Upanisad (6.7)says:

tam isvaranam paramam mahesvaram tam daivatanam paramam ca daivatam
patim patinam paramam parastad vidama devam bhuvanesam idyam

"The Supreme Lord is the controller of all other controllers, and He is the greatest of all the diverse planetary leaders. Everyone is under His control. All entities are delegated with particular power only by the Supreme Lord; they are not supreme themselves. He is also worshipable by all demigods, and is the supreme director of all directors. Therefore, He is transcendental to all kinds of material leaders and controllers and is worshipable by all. There is no one greater than Him, and He is the supreme cause of all causes."

sa-brahmakah sa-rudras ca sendra deva maharsibhih
arcayanti sura-srestham devam narayanam harim

"Innumerable Brahmas, Sivas, Indras, sages and demigods, all worship the Supreme Lord Narayana, the best among the demigods." (smrti)

The Padma Purana (Uttara-khanda, 226.37) describes the nature of the jiva (individual living entity) in the following way:

makarenocyate jivah ksetrajnah paravan sada
dasa-bhuto harer eva nanyasyaiva kadacana

"In the sacred syllable Om, the letter m stands for the individual spirit soul. The individual soul is the knower of the field of activities. He is transcendental, and he is, in his original spiritual nature, a servant of Lord Hari. He is never the servant of Brahma, Siva, or anyone else."

In the Bhagavad Gita, the jivas have been so defined:

mamaivamso jiva-loke jiva-bhutah sanatanah
manah-sasthanindriyani prakrti-sthani karsati

“The living entities in this conditioned world are My eternal fragmental parts. Due to conditioned life, they are struggling very hard with the six senses, which include the mind.”
>>> Ref. VedaBase => Bg 15.7

By definition, the parts cannot be equal to the whole, but their value is intrinsically related. Both in the material and spiritual worlds, the jivas play the role of assistants in the pastimes of the Lord. The difference is that in the spiritual world they act under the influence of yoga-maya, while in the material world they act under the spell of maha-maya, the external energy. Those who are devotees of Krsna with a favourable attitude are classified into five major divisions: those in santa-rasa, dasya-rasa, sakhya-rasa, vatsalya-rasa, and madhurya, or into seven secondary categories: hasya, adbhuta, vira, karuna, raudra, bhayanaka, and vibhatsa.

No comments:

Post a Comment