Tuesday, September 1, 2009

Prameya Six: There are different grades of living entities due to the results of their activities

By the law of karma one may become a demigod or a demon

All the jivas share common qualities, such as their fragmental dimension, and all are conscious, possess form, and are endowed with knowledge, but either in the material world or in the spiritual world, their status is different from one another due to their different activities, in the former by the contact with the three modes of material nature, and in the latter by a variety of transcendental service to Krsna. Lord Krsna says:

purusah prakrti-stho hi bhunkte prakrti-jan gunan
karanam guna-sango 'sya sad-asad-yoni-janmasu

“The living entity in material nature thus follows the ways of life, enjoying the three modes of nature. This is due to his association with that material nature. Thus he meets with good and evil among various species.”
>>> Ref. VedaBase => Bg 13.22

urdhvam gacchanti sattva-stha madhye tisthanti rajasah
jaghanya-guna-vrtti-stha adho gacchanti tamasah

“Those situated in the mode of goodness gradually go upward to the higher planets; those in the mode of passion live on the earthly planets; and those in the abominable mode of ignorance go down to the hellish worlds.”
>>> Ref. VedaBase => Bg 14.18

Due to the association with the different gunas, the jivas accept material bodies among the trees, animals, humans, demigods, etc. And among the liberated souls, those situated in the Vaikuntha planets are considered superior to those who merged in the impersonal Brahman. Among those who are in Vaikuntha, there is a transcendental gradation among the rasas, for dasya-rasa includes santa-rasa, sakhya-rasa includes dasya-rasa, vatsalya-rasa includes sakhya-rasa, and madhurya-rasa includes vatsalya-rasa, thus it is the topmost position. And among the different devotees who serve in the madhurya mood, Srimati Radharani is the topmost, for no one else exhibit the transcendental loving attitude towards Krsna as She does. Thus the living entities are further classified into nitya-siddhas, those who never fall in the material world, but are always under the control of yoga-maya, such as the inhabitants of Vrndavana, and the baddha-jivas, who are conditioned by the modes of nature. The sakti-tattva, however, is distinct from the jiva-tattva, and comprises the personified internal potency of the Lord, such as Radharani and Laksmi. Therefore it is clear that in any stage of existence there are different statuses among the jivas, the Lord’s potencies and even the expansions of the Lord Himself, for we see in the Bhagavatam that even Maha Visnu is attracted by Lord Krsna.


  1. Hi,
    Nice Blog.
    Do you have an email where i can read you on some guestions from Govinda Bhasya


  2. Welcome. Please use the "Contact Me" link and I will reply to you.